young metalsmith, new to the area

Singlesonnet

young metalsmith, new to the area

Unread post by Singlesonnet » Fri Dec 05, 2014 2:02 pm

Hello to TGoM!
My name is Kirsti, and I am an aspiring jeweler/metalworking that has been living on the west coast the last 6 years, recently having moved back to my home state Minnesota! I joined this forum because I thought it would be a good way to meet some metallic community members out here in the Twin Cities! I am curious if there are any individuals or businesses out there that need a helping hand.

When out on the west coast in Olympia, Washington, I built my skills in fine metals during my undergraduate at The Evergreen State College. I found my true love - copper, and from there built my skills in stone setting, fabrication, casting and the like. I became really interested in making "art" jewelry while also honing my craftsmanship to industry standards. I've only been a jeweler for a few years, I've made a lot of things but have a lot to learn.

Even more recently I wanted to expand my skill set a bit and took the Fall Iron Concentration at Penland School of Crafts as a work study student. I knew it would be fun and informative to try a different process, but unexpectedly to myself, I fell for blacksmithing and steel fabrication in general. It has became almost more of a focus to my immediate future to find a shop to work in.

All I want to do is get back into a studio and learn as much as I can. I am not sure what the next step in my career will be, but I thought reaching out would at least be one forward. Internship; apprenticeship; work trade; studio rental: these are all possibilities!

What's out there Minnesota?

Likely I will be crossing paths with some of you in the future.

Thanks a lot!

Kirsti

wayne.olson

Re: young metalsmith, new to the area

Unread post by wayne.olson » Fri Dec 05, 2014 6:38 pm